Games Gist

Family Gaming

Three Months and Forty-Two Different Games

In the first three months of 2007, I played 42 different card and board games. Why, it was almost “gamer heaven!” There is one primary reason for my opportunity to enjoy such a variety: my participation in three very different gaming “groups.” 

I enjoy playing a large selection of games with my family of eight, weekly. Our games include at least six players, usually seven, and sometimes eight. This restricts the number of games we can play, because many games simply cannot accommodate that many players. Fortunately, we have been able to stretch a good number of games that are officially designed for five or six players, so that seven or eight of us can play together. Our game preferences also limit the games available to us, since we rarely play party games, which generally are aimed at groups of eight or more. But, we have acquired a good variety of excellent games that we can all enjoy simultaneously. 

Late in 2006, a new game group was formed in the area where I live, by citizen k (BGG username) – the West Denver Gamers. We meet weekly, and the number of participants has varied between two and nine, depending on everyone’s schedule. Most times, at least three or four people are there. We usually split into two groups, if there are more than five in attendance. This has given me the opportunity to play games that allow only three, four, or five players, which include some excellent choices. I would not be able to play those games with my family, because we prefer to all play together, rather than dividing into smaller groups. 

In addition, after citizen k and I got acquainted at the game group nights, we began playing games one afternoon per week, when our schedules allow it. This gives me the chance to play some games that I would not be able to play otherwise. Some of the games are strictly two-player, while others play well with two, but could accommodate more players. It also gives us both the opportunity to play more lengthy games than could be played at our game group meetings, including wargames. 

Gaming in these three quite different circumstances is a real golden opportunity for me. I have never before had the opportunity to play so many great games of such variety as I am now enjoying. The West Denver Gamers group brings together an excellent choice of games, both older ones and new ones. I would not have the chance to play some of the these games, outside of the group (or one like it). Many of the games would not interest most of my family group, even if they accommodated seven or eight players, but I have an extensive curiosity about a wide variety of game types.  Here is a list of the games I played in the first three months of 2007: 

  • Afrika Korps
  • Alhambra
  • Around the World in 80 Days
  • Bohnanza
  • Boomtown
  • Carcassonne
  • Cartagena
  • Coloretto
  • Drakon
  • Elfenland
  • Foppen
  • Hare and Tortoise
  • Hellas
  • Hunters and Gatherers
  • Leonardo da Vinci
  • Loot
  • Lord of the Rings – The Confrontation
  • Manhattan
  • Munchkin
  • Nertz
  • Oh Hell
  • Pick Picknic
  • Pickomino
  • Puerto Rico
  • Railroad Tycoon
  • Risk: Godstorm
  • Scattergories
  • Scavenger Hunt
  • Settlers of Catan
  • Silverton
  • Station Master
  • Stonewall Jackson’s Way
  • Taboo
  • Take It Easy
  • Thurn and Taxis
  • Ticket to Ride
  • Tigris and Euphrates
  • Trumpet
  • Turn the Tide
  • Verräter
  • Wooden Ships & Iron Men
  • Zirkus Flohcati

I consider that to be a rather eclectic group of games. The range of complexity, length-of-play, published age, and level-of-challenge is wide among these games. Notice that pure abstracts are missing from the list; most games of that genre really hold little interest for me, although a few can be entertaining when I’m in the right frame of mind. There are only a few light wargames here, although citizen k and I may bring more of them to the table this year in our two-player sessions. A few years ago, I would not have even dreamed of playing such a wide variety of games in a three-month period. Life is good! 

I would enjoy playing every game in the list again. Some, I have played only once, so I might grow tired of them after a couple more sessions, but many of them I have played repeatedly and still enjoy immensely. Several of those that I have played only once were most entertaining, and I certainly hope to play them another time. It is possible that I may not have a chance to play some of these games again in the future, and I am sorry to contemplate that possibility. Fortunately, I will have enjoyed them at least once in my lifetime. There are a lot of great games I have not yet tried, but may have the opportunity to do so, by participating in these three different gaming “groups.” I look forward to the remainder of this year with great anticipation; I wonder what new games (to me) I will get to encounter. 

March 31, 2007 Posted by | Family Gaming, Games | Leave a comment